Contact us at: 910-276-3385

image69

Permit Information

The Scotland County Sheriff’s Office provides Pistol Purchase and Concealed Carry gun permitting services as required by State and Federal Law. 


Citizens may visit the Scotland County Sheriff’s Office to apply for permits.  In an effort to provide better customer service to the citizens of Scotland County, the Scotland County Sheriff’s Office now offers Online Pistol Purchase Permit Program and Concealed Carrying Permit Program. These programs attempt to streamline the process and reduce the wait time for Scotland County citizens. The online program also allows the applicant to keep track of the application process by notifying the applicant via email at different levels of the process. It will also help insure you have all the correct documents you need to bring with you when you come to the Sheriff’s Office. Please note there is a $3.00 fee to apply on-line, and there is no fee to apply in person. 


Effective December 1, 2015, North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign an affidavit for the release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchase permits.  This form must be notarized, therefore you MUST come to the Sheriff’s Office within five (5) business days after you have completed the online portion of the application. Applications are only valid for thirty days.


Gun Permit Fees

Permit Type Fee Amount    

Gun Purchase Permit (maximum of 2 per application) $5.00 each ($3.00 fee to apply online)   

Original Concealed Gun Permit $90.00   

Renewal Concealed Gun Permit $75.00   

Duplicate Concealed Gun Permit $15.00    

Payments  only by credit card or money order (No Cash) 

MUST show proof of residency and a Picture ID with correct address. (No PO Box). 

Purchase permits can take up to 14 days to process.

Military Personnel must have Picture ID and form Provost Marshal’s Office. (Army 1380 Form) (Air Force SL Form) 

FAQ on Gun Permits

How do I obtain a concealed handgun permit application?  

Concealed handgun permit applications are available online at Permitium.com, or in person at the Sheriff's Office Gun Permit Division. Renewal applications are also available online at Permitium.com, or in person at the Sheriff's Office Gun Permit Division. The Gun Permit Division is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


How much does it cost for a concealed handgun permit? 

$90 dollars using a credit card, money order or cashier check (no cash)


How much does it cost to renew a concealed handgun permit? 

$75 dollars using a credit card, money order or cashier check (no cash)


How much does a duplicate concealed handgun permit cost? 

$15 dollars using a credit card, money order or cashier check (no cash)


Why does it cost so much to obtain a concealed handgun permit?  

Licensing fees are mandated by the State of North Carolina. An explanation of the fees can be found here, under section '14-415-10.


What documents do I need to apply for a concealed handgun permit? 

North Carolina driver's license or ID card (North Carolina driver's license or ID card is not required for active duty military personnel); original certificate showing completion of an approved firearms safety course; completed application packet; Veterans Affairs medical release form (if applicable); original DD-214 (if applicable); signed 'Do's and Don'ts of Carrying a Concealed Handgun'; and Citizenship Form & Naturalization papers if not born in the U.S.; and a copy of military PCS orders (if applicable, this is only required for active duty personnel that are residing in Scotland County due to a military assignment but are legal residents of another state or county).


How long does it usually take for my concealed handgun permit to be issued? 

Normally within Forty-five days after all of the required paperwork is received by the Sheriff's Office. A representative from the Sheriff's Office will contact you when the concealed handgun permit is ready for pickup.


Why does it take so long to issue a concealed handgun permit? 

The application process is typically slowed down by the acquisition of medical records. Once all of the required medical information is received by the Sheriff's Office, the rest of the approval process is started. It typically takes four to six weeks for the Sheriff's Office to receive the new permit from the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation.


How long is a concealed handgun permit valid for?  

Five years from the date of issuance.


Do I need to be a resident of North Carolina to obtain a concealed handgun permit?  

Yes. You must be a U.S. citizen and have been a resident of North Carolina for 30 days or longer before applying for a concealed handgun permit. Exemptions for active duty military personnel apply.


Are military personnel exempt from residency requirements? 

Yes. However, the Sheriff's Office does require active duty personnel to present a copy of their PCS orders to North Carolina and proof of address (such as a utility bill) in Scotland County when applying for a concealed handgun permit.


I have a valid concealed handgun permit from another county in North Carolina and have moved to Scotland County. What do I need to do?

Begin by updating your driver's license to reflect your new address. Then notify the sheriff's office in your previous county of residence about your address change. Finally, come to the Scotland County Sheriff's Office Gun Permit Division to update your file and pay the $15 dollars duplicate concealed handgun permit fee. It typically takes two weeks to receive the new concealed handgun permit from the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. A representative from the Sheriff's Office will contact you when the new permit is ready for pick up.


I have a valid concealed handgun permit issued in another state and have moved to Scotland County. What do I need to do? 

North Carolina and Scotland County recognize valid concealed handgun permits from all 50 states. Please check with your state to ensure your CCW will still be valid under their laws after you move to North Carolina or change your legal residence. In any event, 90 days prior to the expiration of your out-of-state concealed handgun permit, you must complete an approved North Carolina firearms safety course. After completing the course you may apply for a new North Carolina concealed handgun permit with the Scotland County Sheriff's Office.
Your CCW address is not required to match your NC driver's unless you intend to purchase a firearm. If you intend to purchase a firearm, you will need a purchase permit. A purchase permit requires a matching address 

 

Does the Scotland County Sheriff's Office have a list of approved firearms safety courses?

The Sheriff's Office does not sponsor or endorse any particular firearms safety course. However, approved courses must be certified or sponsored by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. Most local gun dealers and pawn shops have a list of instructors. The Sheriff's Office does not accept online firearms safety courses.

 

Where am I allowed to carry a concealed weapon?

Please refer to North Carolina General Statute '14-415.10 for an in-depth explanation of where carrying a concealed weapon is not permitted.

 

I recently moved, but still reside in Scotland. What do I need to do?

Begin by updating your driver's license to reflect your new address. After doing so, come to the Sheriff's Office Gun Permit Division to update the address on your concealed handgun permit and pay the $15 cash fee for a duplicate concealed handgun permit. It typically takes two weeks for the Sheriff's Office to receive the new permit from the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. A representative from the Sheriff's Office will contact you when the new permit is ready for pick up.

 

My concealed handgun permit was lost, stolen or destroyed. What do I need to do?

You may obtain a duplicate permit by submitting to the Sheriff's Office a notarized statement that the permit was lost, stolen or destroyed and paying the required $15 dollars duplicate permit fee.


Will the Sheriff's Office notify me when my concealed handgun permit is ready for pick up?

Yes.


My legal name is now different than the one on my concealed handgun permit. What do I need to do?

Begin by updating your driver's license to reflect your new name. After doing so, come to the Sheriff's Office Gun Permit Division to update the name on your concealed handgun permit and pay the $15 cash fee for a duplicate concealed handgun permit. Please bring a marriage license or other official document related to your name change for verification. It typically takes two weeks for the Sheriff's Office to receive the new permit from the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation. A representative from the Sheriff's Office will contact you when the new permit is ready for pick up.


Is my Scotland County concealed handgun permit valid in other counties of North Carolina?

Yes, a Scotland County concealed handgun permit authorizes you to carry a concealed weapon anywhere in North Carolina, when permitted by law.

 

Is my Scotland County concealed handgun permit valid in other states?

Most states honor a concealed handgun permit issued in North Carolina. However, it's best to research and confirm a reciprocal agreement is in place before traveling out of state with a concealed weapon. Effective December 1, 2011, North Carolina automatically recognizes concealed handgun permits issued in any of the 50 states.